Introduction to Error Management

Forum for discussion about TSRE features.
User avatar
Goku
Site Admin
Posts: 357
Joined: 15 Jan 2019, 18:10
Location: Poland
Contact:
TSRE 0.698 introduces new Errors & Messages Window.
In the future all errors and messages will be reported here and user will be able to fix errors either automatically or manually using provided action description.
This feature is in early stage of development now and only some examples are reported here.

There is new settings.txt option for advanced database check.
loadAllWFiles = true
This command will load all W files during route loading and TSRE will perform advanced Track Database check.
Without this option still some errors are reported.

User can select message from the list. Read description and recommended actions.
It is also possible to select object related to selected message and jump to it's location.

Image

Another example of warning message.

Image

xavivilla
Posts: 26
Joined: 16 Jan 2019, 19:14
Very good tool when you learn to use it, I have solved more than 500 errors in the TDB in one day.
The only thing I find missing, is a button that allows you to refresh the tool, to be able to eliminate the already corrected lines.
Once again, congratulate you on your work with TSRE.
Always grateful.
I apologize for my English of translator

User avatar
Goku
Site Admin
Posts: 357
Joined: 15 Jan 2019, 18:10
Location: Poland
Contact:
Now there is an autoFix function. TSRE will remove all broken objects if autoFix is set to true in settings.txt
Also one more error detected by TSRE - signal linked to wrong trackNode

Image

xavivilla
Posts: 26
Joined: 16 Jan 2019, 19:14
Goku, thank you for your advancements in detecting and debugging database errors.
Surely the work of the route creators will be happier.
I apologize for my English of translator

hannes44
Posts: 29
Joined: 27 Jan 2019, 14:23
Thank you! The error detect and repair function is most appreciated and useful.

krausjxotv
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 00:34
I was able to use your error checking feature on the CNW Chicago route and it detected items in the track database missing from world files. It did not detect duplicate items in speedposts, bad track, and position out of bounds. Three examples from the route.

---> TrItem-Definition 700 ('SpeedPostItem {-11544 14423 -603.42 195.652 -669.971}'): Item is referenced for 1 times! It should be '2'.
---> TrItem-Definition 701 ('SpeedPostItem {-11544 14423 -603.348 195.652 -673.933}'): Item is referenced for 1 times! It should be '2'.
---> TrItem-Definition 702 ('SpeedPostItem {-11544 14423 -603.277 195.653 -677.895}'): Item is referenced for 1 times! It should be '2'.

File 0131: 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\Routes\CNW-Harvard\World\w-011544+014423.w'
Tile.X = -11544, Tile.Z = 14423, Tile-Address = -04ee6200
No optional Entry 'VDbIdCount' found!
---> 'Speedpost(220)-TrItemId': Too many entry-definitions (5) found! (internal Restriction)
1 Errors in world-file found!

Speedpost (
UiD ( 220 )
Speed_Digit_Tex ( signnumbers.ace )
Speed_Sign_Shape ( 2 -0.4 5.6 -0.02 0 -0.4 5.6 0.02 3.14159 )
Speed_Text_Size ( 0.2 0.2 0 )
TrItemId ( 0 700 )
TrItemId ( 0 701 )
TrItemId ( 0 702 )
TrItemId ( 0 700 )
TrItemId ( 0 701 )
TrItemId ( 0 702 )
FileName ( cnw-milepost.s )
Position ( -603.481 195.426 -666.616 )
QDirection ( 0 0.713485 0 0.70067 )
VDbId ( 4294967295 )
)

Duplicate TrItemId in the speedpost.

---> 'TrJunctionNode(426)': UiD-Number (-11583,14425,243) does NOT refer to Track/Road (Static)!
'TrJunctionNode(426)': Connection between Shape-Id and UiD is not available!
'TrackNode(426)-TrPin(0)': '0-Reference' of the Node-Definition may cause error(s).
'TrackNode(426)-TrPin(1)': '0-Reference' of the Node-Definition may cause error(s).
'TrackNode(426)-TrPin(2)': '0-Reference' of the Node-Definition may cause error(s).

TrackNode ( 426
TrJunctionNode ( 0 21063 1 )
UiD ( -11583 14425 243 0 -11583 14425 604.79773 271.97211 -299.88068 -0.0026193189 1.8154289 -5.68041e-11 )
TrPins ( 1 2
TrPin ( 0 0 )
TrPin ( 0 0 )
TrPin ( 0 1 )
)
)

An orphaned junction node not connected to any track but instead connected to a static object.

File 0113: 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\Routes\CNW-Harvard\World\w-011543+014423.w'
Tile.X = -11543, Tile.Z = 14423, Tile-Address = -04ee6204
No optional Entry 'VDbIdCount' found!
---> 'Speedpost(230)-Position': Value of position X (-1029.59) is too small!
1 Errors in world-file found!

Speedpost (
UiD ( 230 )
Speed_Digit_Tex ( signnumbers.ace )
Speed_Sign_Shape ( 2 -0.4 5.6 -0.02 0 -0.4 5.6 0.02 3.14159 )
Speed_Text_Size ( 0.2 0.2 0 )
TrItemId ( 0 14 )
TrItemId ( 0 698 )
TrItemId ( 0 699 )
FileName ( cnw-milepost.s )
Position ( -1029.59 191.899 -636.943 )
QDirection ( 0 0.712332 0 0.701843 )
VDbId ( 4294967295 )
)

Coordinate out of bounds from -1024 to 1024.

eolesen
Posts: 40
Joined: 28 Feb 2021, 02:39
None of these "errors" are causing issues in ORTS.

I could care less if MSTS chokes on it since this route was designed for ORTS only.
Last edited by eolesen on 09 Apr 2021, 07:34, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Goku
Site Admin
Posts: 357
Joined: 15 Jan 2019, 18:10
Location: Poland
Contact:
Thank for your suggestions, but ..
krausjxotv wrote:
08 Apr 2021, 02:25
---> TrItem-Definition 700 ('SpeedPostItem {-11544 14423 -603.42 195.652 -669.971}'): Item is referenced for 1 times! It should be '2'.
I don't understand what kind of a bug it is and if it is important. If you explain it, I may consider putting it into error checking.
krausjxotv wrote:
08 Apr 2021, 02:25
File 0131: 'C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\Routes\CNW-Harvard\World\w-011544+014423.w'
Tile.X = -11544, Tile.Z = 14423, Tile-Address = -04ee6200
No optional Entry 'VDbIdCount' found!
The entry is optional and not required, and it is not used at all by TSRE and OR too, I think.
krausjxotv wrote:
08 Apr 2021, 02:25
An orphaned junction node not connected to any track but instead connected to a static object.
TSRE won't check for these errors for now, if they won't cause OR to crash.
krausjxotv wrote:
08 Apr 2021, 02:25
Coordinate out of bounds from -1024 to 1024.
TSRE uses -2047 to 2047 range in error checking. It works great in TSRE editor and OR / MSTS game. No need for such a restrictive position bounds.

krausjxotv
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Apr 2021, 00:34
Another type of error are shapes used in world files or speedpost.dat file and not included in the SHAPES folder.

Check shape-objects for sake of completeness! (2551)
Shape 'fwy6l2wna260r20d.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'fwy6l2wnastrt40m.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'jp2rd150mstrt.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'sr_1tswt_w_m03dr_ext_div.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'sr_2tstr_w_025m.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'UP-Milepost-2YOffset.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'UP-Milepost-3tOffset.s' is NOT defined!
Shape 'UP-Milepost-3yOffset.s' is NOT defined!
Texture 'US2TmpRedSpd.ace' is NOT defined!

In Open Rails this will not cause an error but the objects will not be shown.

The first bug, referenced for 1 times, your program already detects. These are items included in the track database but not in world files.

The orphan junctions cause MSTS to crash. And for Open Rails the track database is larger than needed.

The objects out of bounds cannot be updated in Route Editor. They are shown but on save the world file is not updated because the object is not in the correct world file. In Open Rails these items may not be shown at the correct time because the world file is not loaded.

User avatar
Goku
Site Admin
Posts: 357
Joined: 15 Jan 2019, 18:10
Location: Poland
Contact:
krausjxotv wrote:
08 Apr 2021, 18:26
The objects out of bounds cannot be updated in Route Editor. They are shown but on save the world file is not updated because the object is not in the correct world file. In Open Rails these items may not be shown at the correct time because the world file is not loaded.
I don't care about RR, and TSRE uses more tolerable range -2047 to +2047, so it will detect cases when OR could have issues with loading objects, for example x = 5000.

Post Reply